Happy New Year to My Readers

In honor of New Year’s Day, I guess I’d like to share with my readers, particularly with those wine enthusiasts among them, the best wines I had in the year just past. It’s not my intention to show off, but these wines were quite special and, after watching films like Sideways (2004), I suppose one could no longer deny there is an intimate link between wine and cinema. Both of them are ultimately about life and about fatally flawed species called humans, right? I hope someday I will find time writing an essay on wine and cinema, quite an engaging topic!

Quality wines from France and Australia.

Quality wines from France and Australia.

The quality wines I tasted last year were all served at my friend’s birthday party in October. He could be labelled as an obsessed wine drinker and collector, so at his birthday party, the flagship wine was a 1962 (my friend was born in 1962) Chateau Lafite Rothschild bottle (left), followed by 1970 Chateau La Fleur-Petrus (second from the left), 1978 Chambolle-Musigny (middle), 1987 Chateau Mouton Rothschild (fourth from the left), and Australia’s 1992 Henschke: Hill of Grace.

French and Italian wines.

French and Italian wines.

After the first round of wine tasting, we (10 of us) switched to another room and had formal dinner, with steaks as the main course. The dinner was accompanied with another five bottles of wine: 1994 Chateau Ausone (left), 1975 Chateau Haut Brion (second from the left), 2003 Louis Latour Chateau Corton Grancey (middle), 1993 Chateau Giscours: Margaux (fourth from the left), and Italy’s 2004 Brunello di Montalcino.

So, Happy New Year and May Fine Wine Ignite Everyone’s Passion and Inspiration!

One Response to Happy New Year to My Readers

  1. Helpful information. Lucky me I discovered your site unintentionally, and I’m surprised why this twist of fate did not came about in advance! I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

