My Prediction of the 82nd Academy Awards, March 7, 2010

My Prediction of the Oscars

I couldn’t update my blog in China because the site was blocked from early January until today, Feb. 28, 2010. No one knows what has happened. I guess this is the “Chinese reality”: sometimes you don’t know what has happened behind the curtain. You should be just thankful that your frustration won’t last very long.

I was interviewed by a Shanghai-based TV station on the upcoming Oscars. The following are my predictions of the winners in major categories:

Best Picture: Avatar (I know The Hurt Locker is the front runner, but Avatar to me should be the choice because of the film’s historical significance);

Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow (I’d rather to see a female filmmaker on stage for the first time in Oscars’ history; and Kathryn deserves the honor)

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Jeff Bridges (although I also liked Morgan Freeman’s performance, I think this year belongs to Jeff Bridges)

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Meryl Streep (I’m not a big fan of Sandra Bullock, whose performance in Blind Side is mediocre to me)

Best Animated Feature: Up (this is the only sure winner)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Christoph Waltz (his performance in Inglourious Basterds is just mesmerizing)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Mo’Nique (a black actor winning the category would make this year’s awards more diverse)

Best Foreign Language Film: The White Ribbon (Das Weisse Band), Germany (once again, I have to say that China’s decision to submit Mei Lan Fang for consideration is simply a disaster; no one in the academy even expressed slight interest in the film, according to my inside source)

One Response to My Prediction of the 82nd Academy Awards, March 7, 2010

  1. Wlsc office stationary…

    […]My Prediction of the 82nd Academy Awards, March 7, 2010 « Shaoyi Sun's Film Review Blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

